Bihar Government To Ban Diesel Autos From January 31, 2021

By Sarthak Moghe Sat, 9 Nov 2019
Bihar Government To Ban Diesel Autos From January 31, 2021

Bihar Government To Ban Diesel Autos From January 31, 2021

In an attempt to improve the air quality of Patna, the Bihar Government has decided to ban diesel-based auto-rickshaws under Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC) area from January 31, 2021, midnight and in the Nagar Parishad areas of its three satellite towns of Danapur, Khagaul and Phulwarisharif from March 31, 2021. Previously, the government announced a ban on all commercial and state-owned vehicles which are 15 years old. The ban is, however, not applicable to private vehicles.

In respect to the new decision of the Government, State Transport Secretary Sanjay Agarwal informed the journalists, “All diesel-run autorickshaws will be banned from January 31, 2021, in Patna and its adjoining areas like Danapur, Khagaul, and Phulwariesharief from March 31, 2019. The government, though, will promote CNG (compressed natural gas), electric and battery-run autos in their place. Later, this will be implemented in other parts of the State as well.”

The Central Pollution Control Board revealed that air pollution in Patna has soared to a severe level like Delhi with the Air Quality Index crossing over 400 after the festivals of Diwali and Chhath Puja. The terrific condition propelled the Chief Minister, Nitish Kumar to organize a meeting of all the top officials and environmental experts to take measures to control the severe situation. He also suggested planting more trees in the city.

Eminent people present in the meeting like State cabinet secretariat department principal secretary Dipak Kumar and the secretaries of transport department and information technology, Sanjay Kumar Agarwal and Rahul Singh stated that it is urgent to improve the air quality of Patna. Agarwal even remarked that Patna is the seventh most polluted city in the world and sixth most polluted in the country.

Agarwal added that the government will also introduce a subsidy scheme worth Rs 30 crore for the diesel auto-rickshaw owners to switch over to the CNG or battery, or even petrol-based three-wheelers fitted with CNG Kit. There would be 15 CNG outlets by the end of the third quarter next year. Added to this, the policy designed for Patna, Danapur, Khagaul, and Phulwari would be applied in other towns of the state after assessing the pollution level.

The subsidy amount payable for the conversion of seven-seated diesel/petrol auto rickshaw into the CNG vehicle in one installment stands at Rs 40, 000 while Rs25,000 subsidy amount would be paid for its conversion to the battery run vehicle. Besides, Rs20,000 subsidy would be paid for the retrofitting of CNG Kit in the motor cab or maxi cab.


Recommended For You

Recent Posts